Movember 2013 – I’m in!

The time has come! After spending the last few years in retail and being unable to take part, my new job sees me sat at a desk, so I can finally participate in Movember as a MoBro.

My last cut throat wet shave

My last cut throat wet shave

    What is Movember?


Movember is a charity which raises funds through asking men (MoBros) to grow moustaches during the month of November (see what they did there?), in some cases supported by their wives/girlfriends/female friends (MoSistas). The proceeds go towards supporting investment in men’s health programmes in relation to prostate cancel, testicular cancer and mental health.

    How has Movember Grown?


Started by 30 MoBros in Australia in 2003 as a joke to bring back the moustache into fashion, in 2012, 1,127,152 MoBros and MoSistas took part with official campaigns in 21 countries as listed below with the year they joined the MoFamily:

Australia – 2003
Austria – 2012
Belgium – 2011
Canada – 2007
Czech Republic – 2010
Denmark – 2011
Finland – 2010
France – 2012
Germany – 2012
Hong Kong – 2012
Ireland – 2008
Netherlands – 2010
New Zealand – 2006
Norway – 2011
Singapore – 2012
South Africa – 2010
Spain – 2007
Sweden – 2012
Switzerland – 2012
UK – 2007
and
USA – 2007

The amount raised has also grown from AUD $54,000 (appx £30,000) to £92,000,000 in 2012. In fact is is now ranked in the top 100 charities in the Global Journal amongst an estimated 5 million.

MO13-Primary-Logo-Ranged-POS-copy-thumb

    What Will I be Doing?


Quite simply, I’ll be shaving mon visage entier (well everything sounds better in french doesn’t it?) on Thursday 31st October and then not shaving above my top lip until Sunday 1st December at the earliest – who knows if I like it and by some miracle it doesn’t go ginger, I may end up keeping it (and me warm) over Christmas.

This is a thankless (and very itchy from what I understand) undertaking, so if you see fit and are able to do so, please do sponsor me.

I will be posting updates as I go, or you can take a look at my gallery over the month over at My Mo Space.

    How to Donate

If you would like to donate to the cause and support my efforts, please visit my page here. If you are a UK taxpayer, please don’t forget to add Gift Aid, which adds 25% to the value of your donation. For those who know me, no I’m not doing it just for the free solidarity burgers at Byron (ye of little faith!)

    Don’t Forget


To follow Movember UK, or the associated version in your country to keep a tab on how the campaign is going. I’ll be posting links in my updates as I go through the month both to interesting initiatives that are happening and to others who have joined this worthy cause – check out Whisky4Movember’s Twitter account and their website for an idea of how things went in 2012.

Forward into the unknown….

Leave a Reply

